An Uprooting

As you may have heard, my visa runs out in the middle of August, so I will be returning to the States. It is time for me to go home, there have been several family-related reasons to move back, as well as my simply missing them immensely.

It will be an uprooting though. I love this place, these people, and this life. I think I’ve said it before, but this way of living makes so much sense to me and I feel that I fit here with these amazing people and crazy life. I will miss everyone immensely.

I hope I transplant well, that someone remembers to puddle me in when my roots are exposed in the journey, and that I find more good soil to continue growing in. I also hope that I have enriched the soil in my time in this place, and that I have made a space where someone else can take root in a new home and flourish.

I have learned so much, laughed so much, and loved so much. I will return, how could I not? But until we meet again, may the road rise up to meet you, may the wind be ever at your back. May the sun shine warm upon your face and the rain fall gently on your fields. And until we meet again, may God hold you in the palm of his hand. 

Much love, Lydia

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.